Child Care

New  York City Child Care Resource and Referral Consortium: link


 

Play, Toys and Games

Ginsburg, Committee on Communication, and the Committee on Psychosocial Aspects of Child and Family Health: The Importance of Play in Promoting Healthy Child Development and Maintaining Strong Parent-Child  Bonds. PDF

Importance of Unstructured Play for Self-Regulation: npr.org

Bruno Bettelheim: The Importance of Play.

Illinois Early Learning Project: Young Children Need to Play.

Stuart Brown: Why Play is Vital – No Matter Your Age. Video.

Sir Ken Robinson: Do Schools Kill Creativity? Video.

Sir Ken Robinson: Bring on the Learning Revolution! Video.


 

Postpartum Depression

PPD-Moms:
http://www.1800ppdmoms.org/
1-800-PPD-MOMS

PPD Hope:
877-PPD-HOPE (877-773-4673)

Postpartum Health Alliance of Northern California:
(888) 773-7090 (9 a.m. – 9 p.m. Pacific time)
Talk to mothers who have recovered from PPD

Postpartum Support International:
http://postpartum.net/
800-994-4PPD (4773) (9 a.m. – 3 p.m. Pacific time)

Awesome website showing resources in every state:
http://www.postpartum.net/Get-Help/Support-Resources-Map-Area-Coordinators.aspx

PPD Survivors (blog):
http://ppdsurvivor.blogspot.com/2008/07/ppd-hope-offers-hotline-available-247.html

Motherisk helpline:
1-877-439-2744

Online PPD support group:
http://www.ppdsupportpage.com/

PEP Warmline:
1-805-564-3888
Educational and emotional support from a trained volunteer. Referrals to groups, professionals and agencies for help dealing with PPD. There are no fees and all information is confidential.


 

Single Parenting

Books:

Jane Mattes: Single Mothers by Choice. A Guidebook For Single Women Who Are Considering or Have Chosen Motherhood. Three Rivers Press, 1997.

Mikki Morrissette: Choosing Single Motherhood: The Thinking Woman’s Guide.

Louise Sloan: Knock Yourself Up. A Tell-All Guide to Becoming a Single Mom.

Resource Websites:

Single Mothers By Choice: singlemothersbychoice.com

The Complete Single Mother: singlemother.org

Single Dad – Make Life Happen Again: singledad.com

Choice Moms: choicemoms.org

Single Spouse – A Community for Single Parents: singlespouse.com

Single Father: singlefather.org

Single Mom – All Around Advice: singlemom.net

Assistance for Moms: assistance4moms.org

Single Parents Town: singleparentstown.com


 

ART

Books

Vercollone, Moss and Moss: Helping the Stork. The Choices and Challenges of Donor Insemination.